Golf carts are becoming increasingly popular in North Carolina and across the country as an alternative mode of transportation. With gas prices on the rise, golf carts offer a more economical way to get around town. They’re also fun to drive and can be a great way to meet your neighbors.
However, before you head out on the streets in your golf cart, it’s important to know the laws governing their use in North Carolina.
Golf Cart Laws and Regulations
If you’re lucky enough to live in North Carolina, or are planning a visit, you may be wondering what the golf cart laws are. Here’s everything you need to know!
In North Carolina, golf carts are only allowed on roads with a speed limit of 35 mph or less.
This means that if you’re staying in a gated community or resort with its own private roads, you’ll likely be able to zip around without any issue. However, once you venture out onto public streets, it’s important to stick to the lower-speed limits. Golf carts must also have working headlights and taillights at all times when they are on the road.
If you’re driving after dark, be sure to turn your lights on so that other drivers can see you. And of course, always yield to pedestrians! When it comes to licensing and registration, golf carts in North Carolina fall into a bit of a gray area.
Technically speaking, they don’t need to be registered as long as they aren’t being driven on public roads. However, many communities require residents who own golf carts to register them anyway for insurance purposes. So if you’re not sure whether registration is required where you’ll be driving your cart, it’s best to err on the side of caution and get it done before hitting the road.
Now that you know the basics of North Carolina’s golf cart laws, all that’s left is to enjoy cruising around in your new set of wheels!
North Carolina Golf Cart Registration
Are you a North Carolina resident who is looking to register a golf cart? If so, you’ll need to follow the specific regulations set forth by the state. Here’s what you need to know about North Carolina golf cart registration.
In order to operate a golf cart on public roads in North Carolina, the vehicle must be registered with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The registration process is fairly simple and can be completed online or in person at your local DMV office. When registering your golf cart, you’ll need to provide proof of ownership, as well as proof of insurance.
You’ll also be required to pay a one-time registration fee of $32.50. Once your golf cart is registered, you’ll receive a decal that must be affixed to the rear of the vehicle. Golf carts are only allowed on public roads that have a speed limit of 35 mph or less.
In addition, all golf carts must be equipped with headlights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, and reflective tape. Drivers must also yield the right-of-way to pedestrians and obey all traffic laws while operating their vehicles.
Are Golf Carts Street Legal in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, golf carts are not street legal. This means that they cannot be driven on public roads or highways. However, they can be driven on private property, such as in a gated community or a golf course.
If you want to use a golf cart on public roads, you will need to get a special permit from the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.
Do Golf Carts Need License Plates in Nc?
In North Carolina, golf carts do not need license plates. However, they must be registered with the Division of Motor Vehicles and have a valid registration sticker affixed to them. The registration fee for a golf cart is $5.
Can I Drive a Golf Cart around My Neighborhood?
Yes, you can drive a golf cart around your neighborhood as long as it meets the requirements set forth by your state and local municipality. Each state has different laws regarding golf carts, so it’s important to check with your local department of motor vehicles to find out what is required in order for your golf cart to be street legal. In most cases, you will need to register the golf cart and obtain insurance.
Some states also require that you have a valid driver’s license in order to operate a golf cart on public roads.
Can You Ride a Golf Cart on the Highway in North Carolina?
No, you cannot ride a golf cart on the highway in North Carolina. Golf carts are only allowed on roads with a speed limit of 35 mph or less.
In North Carolina, golf carts are classified as low-speed vehicles (LSV). LSVs are defined as four-wheeled electric or gas-powered vehicles that have a maximum speed of 25 mph on flat terrain. Golf carts must be equipped with seat belts, headlamps, taillights, brake lights, rearview mirrors, windshields, and turn signals.
They are not allowed to be driven on highways or interstates.